Cusworth Hall was the home of the Wrightson, or Battie-Wrightson, family until 1952. It began a new chapter in its history in 1967, when it opened as an industrial museum run by Doncaster Council.
Between 1974 and 2005 the museum was known as The Museum of South Yorkshire Life. Following a large Heritage Lottery Fund grant, the site re-opened to the public in 2007 as Cusworth Hall, Museum and Park. The interior of the building has been transformed, while stunning ceiling paintings in the chapel were uncovered and restored to their original glory.
Today, the unique heritage of Doncaster is represented by an enchanting collection of objects, costume and photographs. Our themed displays explore all aspects of daily life, from setting up home and bringing up children, to life at work and leisure time entertainments.
As well as our permanent displays, we also have a changing programme of exciting temporary exhibitions, so there is always something new to see.
Cusworth Park is now fully restored to its Edwardian heyday. Visitors can appreciate all that the Park has to offer throughout the year. Considerate replanting and continual care and maintenance mean that our Green Flag site is a place to return to again and again. From lazy summer picnics to brisk winter strolls, the Park is the ideal location to observe the changing seasons and a wealth of wildlife.