Orchestra of Opera North Concert: Shostakovich & Bartok: Huddersfield Town Hall: Part of Kirklees Concert Season.



Part of the Kirklees Concert Season 2021/22
The maelstrom of the mid 20th century is the focus tonight as Antony Hermus' programme opens with Galina Ustvolskaya's terrifically imposing Symphonic Poem No. 2. Returning to the work of her teacher, Shostakovich, Leader of the Orchestra David Greed steps forward as soloist in the First Violin Concerto, in his last orchestral concert in the Kirklees Season. One of Bartok's last and most popular compositions - featuring a cheeky quotation from Shostakovich's "Leningrad" Symphony - the Concerto for Orchestra closes the evening.

Orchestra of Opera North
Conductor: Antony Hermus
Violin: David Greed

Ustvolskaya: Symphonic Poem No. 2
Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1
Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra

Time: 4.30 pm
Free pre-show talk starts at 3.40pm


Type Price
Tickets Full price: £13 - £27 Concessions: £11 - £24 Under 30's: £4 16 and under: £1



Opening Hours

Sun 09:00 17:00
Mon 09:00 17:00
Tue 09:00 17:00
Wed 09:00 17:00
Thu 09:00 17:00
Fri 09:00 17:00
Sat 09:00 17:00

Visit Website


Similar Events


Other things nearby

A three word address provided by our friends at ///what3words.