North Yorkshire

Regions in North Yorkshire

North Yorkshire Cities and Large Towns

About North Yorkshire

North Yorkshire is the largest non-metropolitan county and lieutenancy area in England, covering an area of 3,341 square miles.

Around 40% of the county is covered by national parks, including most of the Yorkshire Dales (the Yorkshire Dales National Park) and the North York Moors (the North York Moors National Park).

It is one of four counties in England to jointly comprise Yorkshire; the three other counties are the East Riding of YorkshireSouth Yorkshire and West Yorkshire.

From 1974 (via Local Government Act 1972) to 1996, North Yorkshire was entirely within the Yorkshire and the Humber region.

Since 1996, parts of the North East England region joined the county non-administratively. York also moved into being a non-administrative part of the county in 1996.

The Middlesbrough built-up area (population: 174,700) is the most populous settlement while the York built-up area is second with a population of 152,841, although neither form part of the administrative county, and are not governed by North Yorkshire County Council (NYCC).

Mid-2016 estimates by the ONS recorded a 602,300 population in the NYCC area.

The most populous settlement in the administrative county (and third in the overall ceremonial county) is Harrogate (Population: 75,070); followed by Scarborough (Population: 61,749).

Northallerton, the administrative county town, was recorded with a 16,832 population.

While York is not technically in the administrative region, as it is a unitary authority in its own right, it is the historic capital of Yorkshire, and sits entirely within North Yorkshire geographically.

Other large settlements in the county are Redcar, Thornaby-on-Tees and Ingleby Barwick.