Giveaway: 6 Shortlisted Books of Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2023

in Harrogate

Get a chance to win the six titles shortlisted for crime’s most wanted prize, the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2023.

About the books

The shortlist for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2023, produced by Harrogate International Festivals, has recently been announced, with six bestselling authors competing to win the UK’s most wanted crime writing prize. You can be in with a chance to win the six gripping books featured in the shortlist by entering this fantastic prize draw.

The prestigious award – now in its 19th year – celebrates crime fiction at its very best, with this year’s shortlist taking readers on spine-tingling journeys of murder, stalking, ghosts, mysterious disappearances and much more. Selected with help from a public vote from a longlist of twenty novels to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival, the list features newcomers and previous prize contenders alike – but none of this year’s shortlisted novelists have ever taken home the coveted award before, making this year’s competition even more tense…

Challengers for the trophy include Elly Griffiths, former Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival Programming Chair in 2017, who is in the running for an impressive sixth time for The Locked Room: the penultimate mystery in the series featuring Norfolk’s favourite forensic archaeologist, Dr Ruth Galloway.

Fellow award alumni on the shortlist are: Ruth Ware with her deliciously dark The It Girl, which unpicks the secrets of university friends in an unputdownable story of suspense and shock; Doug Johnstone’s latest instalment in the much-acclaimed ‘Skelfs’ series – which has been optioned for TV – with the heart-racing twists and turns of Black Hearts featuring an obsessive stalker, a faked death and a devastating spectre from the past; and best-selling author M.W. Craven for the latest DS Washington Poe thriller The Botanist, where the disgraced detective is tasked with catching a poisoner sending the nation’s most reviled people poems and pressed flowers.

Two novelists have made the shortlist for the first time: Gillian McAllister with her Sunday Times Thriller of the Year, Wrong Place Wrong Time, the jaw-dropping, plot twisting, mind bending Groundhog Day style murder mystery and Fiona Cummins – who was selected by Val McDermid for New Blood in 2017 – who takes the final shortlist spot for her eerily unnerving thriller Into The Dark. The novel follows DS Saul Anguish as he aims to uncover the truth behind the mysterious disappearance of a whole family that takes the reader on a journey through revenge, greed, ambition, and the true cost of friendship.

The winner of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2023 will be announced at the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel Awards & Festival Opening Party on Thursday 20th July. Please visit for more information and to book tickets.

How to enter

This giveaway is now closed

Terms & Conditions

  • Deadline for entry is Wednesday 12th July 2023 at noon.
  • The winner will be selected at random and this decision is final.
  • One entry per person.
  • Winner must provide current email address.
  • Must be over 18 years old.
  • No cash alternative is available.
  • Prizes are not transferable and may not be used in conjunction with any other offer.
  • Prizes are non-negotiable and non-refundable.

2 thoughts on “Giveaway: 6 Shortlisted Books of Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2023”

Leave a Comment